Saying Goodbye to the Winter Interns

Although it was hard to watch them leave, the winter inters have finished their time here at Biolea and are off to new adventures!  Here are some parting remarks from two of the interns:

HENRIQUE:

“I came to Biolea after completing an M.Phil. in English Literature at the
University of Cambridge, looking to do something completely
different/unrelated to my degre. A number of reasons brought me to Crete:

–       A desire, before the responsibilities of a career/full-time employment,
to take a break from academic life & experience a profession that I
greatly admire but have no intention of pursuing.
–       A strong interest in the history & culture of Greece and, more broadly,
of the Balkans / Eastern Mediterranean. Needless to say, then, that
working at Biolea – a company that looks to the history of olive oil
production for inspiration and innovation – is a very interesting
experience.
–       A desire to learn Greek.
–       The opportunity to live in the Cretan mountains. Although modern olive
oil production is by no means an idyllic experience (was it ever?)
walking/cycling around the environs of Astrikas were very enjoyable
aspects of my stay here, as were visits to the local cafeneion after a
hard day’s work.

One of the most rewarding aspects of my time at Biolea was the extent to
which, counter to my initial expectations, I found many of the skills I
acquired to have a wider relevance. Seeking to work more efficiently as a
team while at the same trying to attain greater self-reliance was, for
example, a challenge that I was confronted with every day. Completing a
marketing project on the UK market, formulating my own marketing strategy
and receiving Iorgos’ insightful feedback also introduced me to some of
the difficulties and challenges facing olive oil producers today.

I am greatly indebted to Iorgos & Christine for their warm hospitality
and, above all, their patience. Although I at times struggled to adjust to
the demands of farm labour, I certainly found my time at Biolea to be very
rewarding.  Thank you also to fellow interns Chloe, Jerrod and Greg for
your patience and good company! May this year bring Crete a plentiful
harvest!”
JERROD:

“When I first started my internship, I knew nothing about producing olive oil and the olive oil industry at large. While I had previous agricultural experience, nothing could have prepared me for the depth, focus, and immersion in olive oil business and organic farming practices I received at Biolea. The care, attention, and training shown towards me by George and Christine was exceptional, so much so that recapping what I learned in a single, succinct paragraph (if that was even possible) would serve a great injustice to the program instituted by these two. The joy I received from being involved in every step of the process, from harvesting to pressing to bottling a superior, hand crafted product was immeasurable. The stunning, sun-soaked Cretan backdrop only added to this singular, fantastic experience.”

 

 

 

We are now accepting applications  for the summer internships 2012.

Leave a comment